h1

Veterans Day

November 9, 2014

On June 14th 1775, The same Act that created the Continental Army so was the first Military Oath of Service

I _____ have, this day, voluntarily enlisted myself, as a soldier, in the American continental army, for one year, unless sooner discharged: And I do bind myself to conform, in all instances, to such rules and regulations, as are, or shall be, established for the government of the said Army.

The original wording was effectively replaced by Section 3, Article 1, of the Articles of War approved by Congress on 20 September 1776, which specified that the oath of enlistment read:

I _____ swear (or affirm as the case may be) to be trued to the United States of America, and to serve them honestly and faithfully against all their enemies opposers whatsoever; and to observe and obey the orders of the Continental Congress, and the orders of the Generals and officers set over me by them.

The first oath under the Constitution was approved by Act of Congress 29 September 1789 (Sec. 3, Ch. 25, 1st Congress). It applied to all commissioned officers, noncommissioned officers and privates in the service of the United States. It came in two parts, the first of which read: “I, A.B., do solemnly swear or affirm (as the case may be) that I will support the constitution of the United States.” The second part read: “I, A.B., do solemnly swear or affirm (as the case may be) to bear true allegiance to the United States of America, and to serve them honestly and faithfully, against all their enemies or opposers whatsoever, and to observe and obey the orders of the President of the United States of America, and the orders of the officers appointed over me.” The next section of that chapter specified that “the said troops shall be governed by the rules and articles of war, which have been established by the United States in Congress assembled, or by such rules and articles of war as may hereafter by law be established.”

The 1789 enlistment oath was changed in 1960 by amendment to Title 10, with the amendment (and current wording) becoming effective in 1962.

the current Oath has been in use since 1962 (except the National Guard Army or Air):

I, (NAME), do solemnly swear (or affirm) that I will support and defend the Constitution of the United States against all enemies, foreign and domestic; that I will bear true faith and allegiance to the same; and that I will obey the orders of the President of the United States and the orders of the officers appointed over me, according to regulations and the Uniform Code of Military Justice. So help me God.

For the National Guard Army or Air:

I, (NAME), do solemnly swear (or affirm) that I will support and defend the Constitution of the United States and the State of (STATE NAME) against all enemies, foreign and domestic; that I will bear true faith and allegiance to the same; and that I will obey the orders of the President of the United States and the Governor of (STATE NAME) and the orders of the officers appointed over me, according to law and regulations. So help me God.

September 18th 2014, the Air Force dropped “so help me God” from the oath

This is for the Men and women who have taken the oath to serve the country, putting their private life on hold to serve the country in the military.

June 14th 1775, The Army was created by the Continental Congress.

October 13th 1775, The Continental Navy was created by the Continental Congress.

November 10th 1775, The Continental Marines were created by the Continental Congress.

September 18th 1947, The Air Force was created by President Truman when he signed into law the National Security Act of 1947.

To those who have served and are serving currently, the Oath is simply words unless you have a love for your country and are willing to put your private life on hold while you serve.

To those who willingly say the oath to enlist the words mean just more than being words, its a desire to serve in the military to protect your family and friends and your way of life.  Our leaders realized that moving from a draft based military to an all volunteer based army would bring the best and be willing to stay in instead of feeling forced to stay because of the draft.

I had written a story titled the long road, when I find the story I will publish it…..

Thank you to all Veterans and all retired and currently active military personnel, Men and Women….

Leave a Reply

